Babar Azam oddly wears the wicketkeeper’s glove to field a ball; Pakistan finish with a five-point penalty
Pakistani captain Babar Azam’s attempt to be cheeky cost his side five penalties in Friday’s 2nd ODI against West Indies. During the pitch, Babar wore the wicketkeeper’s glove in one hand, which by law was illegal.
The bizarre incident happened during West Indies’ unsuccessful chase against 276 at Multan Cricket Stadium. During the 29th, played by spinner Mohammad Nawaz, Alzarri Joseph defended the first delivery with the ball going to the square leg area and Babar was wearing a glove in his right hand when he caught the ball and the referee considered it illegal land.
Watch the incident below:-
— mom | pct stan according to. 💚 (@theobsessedbear) June 10, 2022
What the law says?
As per Law 28.1 on Protective Equipment: No defender other than the wicket-keeper is allowed to wear gloves or external leg protectors. In addition, hand or finger protection may only be worn with the consent of the referees.
Well, penalties didn’t cost Pakistan dearly as West Indies pulled back for 155 in 32.2 overs with the hosts recording a whopping 120 run win to close the three-game series.
Babar found himself with a wry smile once he realized what his antics had cost Pakistan. However, in the larger context, he must have been quite pleased with the way his side took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-game series.
“Wicketing was double paced at the start,” Babar said during the post-match presentation. “We wanted to partner because we knew it would be difficult for new hitters. Unfortunately, there was a run-out. Because of me, we were 10-15 points short,” he said.
West Indies were in a solid position in their chase at 71/1 before collapsing as Mohammad Nawaz finished with four wickets.
“I was confident that our spinners would play well. Nawaz was outstanding, he picked wickets at crucial moments,” Babar said.
Get all the latest updates on cricket news, cricket photos, cricket videos and cricket scores here