Major overhaul in field administration

In a major administration shake-up, the government has appointed new deputy commissioners in 23 districts, including Dhaka, Chattogram and Khulna.

Also, CID Special Superintendent Kamal Hossain was transferred to Gaibandha as Police Superintendent while Gazipur Deputy Police Commissioner Mohammad Shakhawat Hossain was transferred to Brahmanbaria as SP.

For all the latest news, follow the Daily Star’s Google News channel.

Mohammad Mominur Rahman has been transferred to Dhaka district as DC from Chattogram and an assistant secretary in the Ministry of Public Administration (MoPA) has been appointed as DC from Chattogram, according to a newspaper notification released by the ministry on Wednesday.

Anisur Rahman and Touhidul Islam, SPs of Gaibandha and Brahmanbaria, have been transferred to Dhaka Metropolitan Police and Criminal Investigation Department (CID).

Jahangir Hossain was transferred to Barishal as DC from Sunamganj and Khandakar Yasir Arefin was transferred to Khulna as DC from Nilphamari.

Dider-E-Alam Mohammad Maksud Chowdhury, who was the Personal Secretary to the Minister of State for Religious Affairs, was appointed DC of Sunamganj while Deputy Director of Rajshahi Divisional Commissioner’s Office, Chitralikha Naznen was appointed DC of Ranpur.

Mostafizar Rahman transferred from MoPA as Mymensingh’s DC.

In addition, DCs have also been appointed in Cumilla, Patuakhali, Tangail, Sunamganj, Gopalganj, Kurigram, Sirajganj, Jhalakathi, Faridpur, Khagrachhari, Bogura, Kishoreganj, Nilphamari, Lalmonirhat, Cox’s Bazar, Joypurhat and Magura.

In August, SPs from 40 districts were transferred.

As it is customary for SPs and DCs to work in a district for around three years, the reshuffle has significance as many officials will play a vital role in the national election which is expected to be held in late December 2023 or early January 2024. .

When contacted, former cabinet secretary Ali Imam Majumder said the transfers were part of a regular process.

Some of these officials were promoted and had to be transferred to higher positions, he said.

Denise W. Whigham